Tecumseh Public Schools Hold Fifth Annual Staff Recognition Event

Tecumseh Public Schools Hold Fifth Annual Staff Recognition Event


On Friday, June 8, Tecumseh Public Schools held its fifth annual Staff Recognition Program. All staff; facilitators, administrators and support staff, came together to celebrate the year, honor retiring personnel, and present its Staff or the Year awards.

Nine staff members with a combined 160 years of service retired from TPS this year. The following individuals were honored for their commitment to the children of TPS:

          Jeanne Bauman ELA Facilitator Tecumseh High School
          Nancy Bush Instructional Assistant Compass Learning Center
          Susan Cunningham-Enos Facilitator Tecumseh High School
          Alison Hunt Music Facilitator Tecumseh North ELC
          James Kessler Social Studies Facilitator Tecumseh High School
          Daniel Noel French Facilitator Compass, East, THS
          Karen Ricketts ELA Facilitator Tecumseh High School
          Diane Tilton Noon Supervisor Tecumseh North ELC
          Claudia Trapp Instructional Assistant Compass Learning Center


Each year, Tecumseh staff members are invited to nominate their peers for a Staff of the Year award in one of three categories; non-instructional support, instructional support, and facilitator of the year.

Tammy Pabolo, Tecumseh South Early Learning Center custodian was named Non-Instructional Support Staff of the Year. Meghan Way, Tecumseh South principal presented the award.

“Tammy not only excels in her job performance of keeping our building safe but can be counted on to understand and support our critical role in providing the social and emotional support our learners’ needs,” she said. “She takes the time to learn all of the learners’ names, joins them for lunch, and asks about their day.”

Deidra Thelen, principal at Tecumseh West STEAM Center, presented the Instructional Support Staff and Facilitator of the Year awards. Michele Sanders was selected to receive the Instructional Support Staff of the Year Award.

“Michele cares about each and every learner in our building,” Thelen said. “She has high expectations for them to always give their best in everything they do, and is always cheering for them.”

Tecumseh Public Schools’ Facilitator of the Year is Chelsey Anastasoff.

“This facilitator creates challenges that inspire learners to build, destroy, and build again.” Thelen said. “I had the privilege of listening in on a conversation this facilitator had with a learner who was explaining a design plan they wanted to try, but were nervous how it would come together. The learner nervously asked ‘but what if it fails’ and this facilitator replied, ‘well that will be cool to try and find out why’ ensuring the learner that we learn from mistakes and the process of trying something challenging is the exciting part even if it doesn’t go as planned. I’ve never seen a learner more excited to get to work.”

As a token of appreciation, all three winners were presented the opportunity to attend a professional development conference of their choice courtesy of the district.

Tammy Pabolo accepting her Staff of the Year award

Meghan Way and Tammy Pabolo


Michele Sanders accepting her Staff of the Year award

Michele Sanders and Deidra Thelen


Chelsey Anastasoff accepting her Facilitator of the Year award

Chelsey Anastasoff and Deidra Thelen


  • Compass
  • East
  • North
  • South
  • THS
  • west