TPS Communications Coordinator Named to MSPRA Board of Directors

TPS Communications Coordinator Named to MSPRA Board of Directors

Tecumseh Public Schools communication coordinator, Judson Lohman was nominated and appointed to serve a 3-year term as an at-large member of the Michigan School Public Relations Association (MSPRA) Board of Directors.

“As one of the first school communicators in Lenawee County, Judson developed the foundation for the district’s public relations and marketing efforts and is a key member of our communications team,” said Dr. Kelly Coffin, TPS superintendent. “His insight and leadership will be valuable resources to the MSPRA Board in their work with school districts across the state.”

Members of MSPRA are public relations and communications specialists and school leaders who believe that communication leads to better support and understanding of school districts. MSPRA was founded in 1958 and is one of the largest state chapters of the National Public Relations Association (NSPRA). The organization provides the opportunity for school communicators participate in professional development, share resources and obtain assistance in meeting special communications needs.

Karen Heath, MSPRA president said Lohman's knowledge of social media applications and ADA compliance, and his leadership as a school PR practicitioner will be beneficial to all MSPRA members.

"It is a privilege to have Judson join the MSPRA Board. He is an innovator in the school communications field," she said. "On behalf of the MSPRA Board, we are honored to have Judson join us at the state level and look forward to his insight as we work to advance education through responsible communication." 

Lohman has served Tecumseh Public Schools as the district’s communications coordinator since 2014. He served on the Professional Development Committee of MSPRA since 2016. Lohman has served at the national level as a member of the NSPRA Communication Technology and Innovation Task Force and was named a finalist in the 2018 NSPRA 35 Under 35 Program.